Notice of Public Hearing on Tax Rate

The CORNERSTONES M.U.D. will hold a public hearing on a proposed tax rate for the tax year 2018 on October 15, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. at 805 Hidden Canyon Rd., Katy, TX 77450. Your individual taxes may increase or decrease, depending on the change in the taxable value of your property in relation to the change in taxable value of all other property and the tax rate that is adopted.

FOR the proposal: Morgan Stagg, Michael D. Chittwood, Lionel A. Garza, Jr. Stephen A. Talecki
AGAINST the proposal: None
PRESENT and not voting: None
ABSENT: Virgina P. Lester

The following table compares taxes on an average residence homestead in this taxing unit last year to taxes proposed on the average residence homestead this year.

Notice of Taxpayers’ Right to Rollback Election

If taxes on the average residence homestead increase by more than eight percent, the qualified voters of the district by petition may require that an election be held to determine whether to reduce the operation and maintenance tax rate to the rollback tax rate under Section 49.236(d), Water Code.

Bob Leared Interests 713-932-9011

Ad Valorem Tax Rate for 2017

At their meeting on Monday, October 16, 2017, the Board received and considered the tax rolls for 2017 for the District. Based on the current valuation of $437,501,766 and the District’s financial requirements to be met by the 2017 tax levy, the board unanimously voted that the following rate be levied per $100 valuation of taxable property for the year 2017:

  1. For payment of principal and
    interest on bonds or notes
    payable from taxes. $0.125
  2. For maintenance and operation
    purposes. $0.175


2016 Directors Election

At their regular meeting on March 21, 2016, the board of directors adopted an Order canceling the May 7, 2016 directors election, the deadlines to run having passed and there not being more candidates than positions up for election. As provided by the Texas Election Code, the following candidates were declared elected at the regular meeting on May 16, 2016:

  • Steve Talecki
  • Tony Garza
  • Caleb Burson

The board elected officers as follows:

Morgan Stagg
Michael Chittwood
Caleb Burson
Stephen Talecki
Assistant Vice-President
Tony Garza
Assistant Secretary